Basic Trauma & Casualty Care - BTACC

BTACC delivers advanced first aid, trauma and casualty care training to organisations that face casualties with life-threatening conditions.

BTACC is a QNUK regulated course that meets the Faculty of Pre-hospital Care (FPHC), Pre-hospital Emergency Medicine (PHEM) guidelines level D of The Royal College of Surgeons Edinburgh.

Home / Training / Course Listing / Basic Trauma & Casualty Care – Industry and Commercial

Empowering Industry to Save Lives.

BTACC has been saving lives for more than two decades and is well proven in emergency services and commercial industry within the UK and abroad.

For many years organisations have relied on the attendance of the ambulance service in the event of a serious accident or major illness at work.
BTACC is a two-day course and meets all of the standards of IEC (Immediate Emergency care) as well as traditional Emergency First Aid at work.
BTACC includes all aspects of major trauma care, life support, oxygen administration and common medical/first aid emergencies. The key focus of the course is life-saving skills to manage the casualty in the time before the next level of care arrives.

Course Information

Course Summary

BTACC is an engaging and focused trauma course.

Candidates will be exposed to real-life scenarios, greatly enhanced by live actors and casualty simulation.

BTACC prepares learners to identify and treat ‘time critical’ and life-threatening injuries in a realistic and immersive way that develops skills and confidence.

The QA Level 3 Award in Basic Trauma and Casualty Care (BTACC) (RQF) qualification may be used towards other qualifications at the same and higher levels, plus aid career progression in a relevant profession.

The qualification is ideal for prehospital care providers working in the emergency services and workers in high-risk workplaces with a duty to respond. This includes Police Officers and Firefighters involved in Corresponding or Forced entry schemes and meets Level D of training, as defined by the Faculty of Pre-hospital Care for providers. It is also ideal for Trainers wishing to deliver Basic Trauma & Casualty care (BTACC) and First Aid Trauma & Casualty care (FTACC) courses.

This qualification is valid for a period of 3 years. The Learner needs to undertake annual refresher training and retake the qualification before the certificate expiry date to remain qualified.

The QA Level 3 Award in Basic Trauma and Casualty Care (BTACC) (RQF) is part of an Integrated Emergency Care Programme (IECP) developed by the ATACC Group to run seamlessly from basic to advanced medical and rescue training.

Course Requirements

Learners must be at least 18 years old on the first day of the training.

There are no other formal entry requirements but to benefit from the learning we advise that Learners have a
minimum of Level 2 in literacy and numeracy or equivalent and a basic understanding of first aid.

Course Aim

The purpose of BTACC is to develop learner knowledge and skills to identify and treat ‘time critical’and life-threatening injuries. Learners will learn to use the internationally renowned M.A.R.C.H algorithm which will develop their ability to use a systematic approach to managing all types of injuries or conditions.

The objective of the BTACC qualification is to benefit Learners by preparing them to deal with ‘time critical’ and life-threatening injuries in a realistic and immersive way that develops skills and confidence.

BTACC is suitable for organisations who require a higher level of training in order to manage potential injuries and sustain life until the arrival of the emergency services.

Course content

1. Safety
2. Scene Management
3. Basic Kinematics and mechanism of injury
4. Catastrophic bleed management
5. Airway assessment – management with basic adjuncts
6. Spinal assessment & Cx spine management immobilisation
7. Safe and effective use of Oxygen
8. Respiratory assessment and support
9. Circulatory assessment, management & recognition of shock
10. Head injury and disability assessment
11. Effects of environment and exposure
12. Effective casualty handling techniques
13. Cardiac arrest – pit crew resuscitation
14. Paediatric BLS
15. Care of acute medical conditions e.g. stroke, diabetes
16. Common medical emergencies
17. Mental health – consent to treat
18. Thermal injury
19. Musculoskeletal injury
20. Drowning and immersion
21. Excitation delirium and overdose

Enquire further about BTACC training

Enquire about this course

TAG | Clinical Governance

Discover how Clinical Governance empowers Industry

Learn More